Dear K,

Dear K,

So tomorrow morning is your first birthday party, and I know you’re real birthday was almost two weeks ago but we had to hold off the celebration so your mom didn’t infect the world with what some thought may have been the cause of the disease in “The Walking Dead”.  Now that everyone is back in good health, we are planning a throwdown stocked full of cupcakes and hot dogs for you tomorrow.

Screen Shot 2014-01-18 at 9.08.36 PM

Night 1 – No Sleep. So Cool

I know you can’t read obviously, but I wanted to write you a thank you letter.  This past year has been a life changer for me.  You have brought happiness into areas of your mom and my life that we didn’t know existed.  You have healed many a deep pain for many people in our family.  But most of all, you have made it pretty apparent that I need to step my game up as a dad and person to be able to hang with you.  I remember the first night you were born, we had the shot to let the nurse take you to the nursery so that we could sleep a little,  we told them “don’t touch my kid! We got this!” and your mom took a big long nap while you and I sat and listened to Zac Brown Band, Shane and Shane and anything else that was in my phone until 3 or 4 in the morning.  I stared at you and thought “this is both the coolest and scariest thing I have ever seen”.  Thanks for making me think that still to this day.

It seems like since Halloween, you have grown from our little baby to a crazy (not bad) little toddler-esque human.  You run, you talk, you fall, you scream, you eat real food, but most importantly you are such a sweet little girl.  Christmas Eve morning when you looked up and said “Hi dad” when I walked in to wake you up, I fell apart.

Screen Shot 2014-01-18 at 9.08.00 PM

Where’s the baby?

I am looking forward to hearing all the new things you will say this year.  As you grow I am looking forward to seeing you love sports (or whatever), even if it is soccer, which I will have trouble coaching because I know nothing.  I look forward to you getting more and more friends.

As you dive into that red velvet super sized cupcake tomorrow, I want you to know that I love you and thank God (and your mom, because she did some serious work) daily for letting me be your dad.  You are cool as can be.

Love you,

Dad.

Posted on January 18, 2014, in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

