The Other 23 Hours… Part 2

Last week I talked about the Fitbit Force and how it has opened my eyes to the laziness of the 23 hours of my average. I spend an hour a day 4 or 5 days a week at my Crossfit box working my tail off, but the other hours I was pretty stationary.  The Fitbit has changed that.

One of the added benefits of the Fitbit is it’s ability to sync up with other apps and websites to help build some habits and change routines.  Today I am talking about MyFitnessPal.  I have never been one to count calories because it is a tedious, and frankly boring habit to get into.  Nobody wants to finish off their favorite meal at a local restaurant only to pull out their phone and realize they ate more calories in the last 15 minutes than they were supposed to the whole day (Thanks a lot Buffalo Wild Wings).  Anyways, I decided if I am going to chart my steps and be diligent about the work I am doing, I needed to investigate what was going in vs. what was coming out when it comes to calorie burn.  A month with my Fitbit and MyFitnessPal and there are some major positives and a few negatives of the calorie tracking app.

Pros:  Actively thinking “Should I eat this?  Do I have enough room in my “budget”, Easy barcode tracking, automatically syncs both ways with Fitbit App and website, Easy to use, tons of foods on the database. Set reminders to log your meals

Cons:  Still boring to track calories, water logging is weird, I log through FitBit, Creating new foods is annoying.

MyFitnessPal – I will continue to use it because it does force me to think about that late afternoon snack or whether or not the second beer is worth the count.  I have had a few moments where I think “Oh I have burned 700 calories walking today, I can eat a _______ which isn’t on plan but it won’t put me over”, luckily 95% of the time my will power will carry me.

Posted on January 26, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

