Sweetheart Scuffle

Things got a little crazy there for a bit.. Work, family and other random things, I didn’t follow through on #30days hustle of 15 posts last month but I am back!

Today, I want to talk about the opportunity I got a few weekends back to do something that I didn’t think I would have do.  When I started this Crossfit thing, I wasn’t doing it to compete in any competitions.  I wasn’t doing it to have any sort of medal hanging on my wall or anything like that.  I started it to be a healthy dad.  My wife started it to be a strong healthy mom.

Fast forward almost a year, we are walking up to my second competition and my wife’s first.  We are Team DearSkin and we are competing in the “Sweetheart Scuffle” together as a couple.  Everyone we work out with suggested we not work out on the same team but we did it anyways.  The first WOD wasn’t as bad as we expected, we came out and did better than a few teams.  We didn’t go into this looking for a medal, we wanted to finish.  We didn’t want to come in last.  That was the goal.

Photo by: Rhonda Kay Photography

Photo by: Rhonda Kay Photography

The second WOD was a powerlifting meet basically, and I was excited.  I knew we were a strong couple but this WOD proved we were physically stronger than most.  Caty stepped up to the bar and did something she didn’t think she could do, she snatched 85 pounds from the ground to overhead in one move.  She was one of the top girls in the scaled division.  I stepped up and Caty decided it was time to dance and be goofy.  According to her, I turn into a psycho when I lift heavy, so she wasn’t surprised when I politely asked her to dance a little to the left so I could death stare at the wall.  This picture came from that even and I think it is an amazing depiction of our relationship.  Caty is intensely watching as I am trying to do something I haven’t ever done before.  She came unglued when the weight hit my shoulders and I stood up.  Hello, new PR.  Hello 230 pound Clean and Jerk.  We finished 5th in the competition in the second WOD because we are physically strong.

Photo by: Rhonda Kay Photography

Photo by: Rhonda Kay Photography

Then the third WOD showed up and showed us that we seriously are a strong couple.  The wait time between the second and third workout was pushing 2 hours and I was getting anxious and worried and overly nauseous because I wanted to finish this workout, and it definitely looked like the workout was going to be brutal.  Finally the workout gets moving and we are knocking the first part out like its the easiest thing we have ever done.  That feeling immediately stopped when we moved into the next part of the workout.  Partner Fran.  My wife had never done a thruster over about 55 pounds and her shoulder was acting up… So that first thruster scared the hell out of her and I could tell the first thought of “We aren’t finishing” clicked in.  We got through those 21 as quick as we could and moved to the pull-ups, which were scaled to jumping pull-ups.  I can do traditional but I figured, for times sake, I would jump.  Got rolling into them and then snap… rolled my ankle off the 45 pound weight I was jumping off.  That sucked.  We got thru Fran and went into Grace.  Another ball of suck, Caty was struggling, my ankle was throbbing and we were running up on our 15 minute cut off.  We finished though.  14 minutes and 15 seconds.  We finished and we kinda made out… and I slapped her butt before I went and laid down on the floor.

This event proved to me that my wife and I can do just about anything we try.  We are both physically and emotionally strong.  Now it’s time for the Open… and let’s just say 14.1 kicked my ass.

Posted on March 4, 2014, in Family, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

