Crossfit Open 2014 – 14.2

5 Weeks.  5 WODs.  

Disclaimer:  I am not an elite Crossfit athlete, there was never a time in this competition that a shot a regionals was even remotely on my radar, but I did have goals set for myself for where I wanted to fall in our box and nationally (basically not last like that one competition I talked about).

The Crossfit Open is a chance for everyone to compete in the same competition and see where they rank in the world.  I paid my $20 Dollars and I build a profile on Crossfit.com.  I want to take you through the journey of each WOD over the next week or so and then sum up where I ended up and more importantly what I learned about myself in this competition.

CROSSFIT OPEN 14.2

14.2

Quote my wife on the release of this WOD.  Be home, I am watching this one, Camille is my favorite!  So when they released the WOD, they have two elite athletes go one on one to show what the workout looks like and to show what the elite are going to do.  Wifey is a fan of one of the women on this release, so we watched it while we ate dinner.

First thoughts when I saw the scheme… 3 minutes of hard work.  I MAY get to the second 3-minute period… a BIG maybe.  When I started CF I couldn’t do a single pull-up, now I can string some together pretty solid.  So there was a little hope of a successful run through this one.  The squats weren’t a worry, I love the lifting side of CF.

WOD starts and I am through 10 OHS with no worries in 12-15 seconds.  I jump on the bar and launch myself into my first attempt at an “In-WOD” Chest to Bar pullup.  NAILED IT.  Got it easy.  Time for my first mistake.  I decided to try to string some together and lost my momentum on the second and third try.  Dropped off the bar, Got back on… Missed by an inch, then missed by two inches, and then three.  Just couldn’t get back up there.  I dropped off the bar with about 45 seconds left in the first 3 minute time period.  I laughed at how hard this was.  A few more failed attempts and I was out of time. I finished with a score of 11 reps.  I was done with 10 of them in 15 seconds.

Frustrated would be an understatement.

This WOD reassured me again that I get too frustrated and get into my head sometimes, I also realized another weakness that needs some attention.  STRICT pullups.  If I can build that core skill up C2B will become quite a bit easier.

Two Weeks in and even though my scores weren’t where I want them to be… I felt like an athlete.  I felt like there was so much progress from 9 months earlier when I started.  The following Thursday, 14.3 was released and I was more than a little stoked.  Things got HEAVY.

Posted on April 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

